Della Street: The Missing Link

Della Street

Della Street

I walked to school in the neighborhood where I grew up. In First Grade, I had to find Mrs. Thompson’s classroom. I was told to find the room with the apple on the door. They all had apples on the door. I picked an apple and went in.

A beautiful young teacher with dark hair who looked like Della Street checked my name on the roster, and directed me to a classroom up the hall. When I found my First Grade teacher, she was an older woman with white hair.

In Second Grade, I had Della Street. I don’t remember much about that year, other than that. By Third Grade, I was too talkative and was corrected one morning by my teacher, Mrs. Mitchell. She was afraid my shenanigans would affect my grades.

By age nine in Fourth Grade, I was becoming close friends with people in my class. My teacher said I was constantly talking and playing. By Fifth Grade, I was becoming friends with my teachers. I would stay after class to help clean up the classroom.

high school buildingThe school building was made of brick but was without air-conditioning. When the temperature rose above 100 degrees inside, we opened the windows. This was in the 1970s.

My Sixth Grade teacher encouraged me to enter a Spelling Bee contest. I had to memorize a page-long essay about freedom, and recite it in the auditorium. The person with the best presentation won a prize, and I won.

If you look at my Elementary School photos, I am very pretty in First Grade. In Second Grade, I am missing my two front teeth. In Third Grade, I am slightly heavy. In Fourth Grade, I’m a little lop-sided. In Fifth Grade, I’ve spent too much time in my brother’s room looking at Jimi Hindrix posters, and am Tomboyish and tangled.

Della Street 2I am now an awkward 11 years old. My teeth aren’t quite grown in. I’m playing softball constantly. I’ve had two sets of braces to correct buck teeth.

I could keep going –musicals, sport events, whether my High School teachers were mean or nice, young or old, but I realize now there was ever only one teacher — and that was always Della Street.

This entry was posted in Biography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment