Poetry Journal Ten Villanelle If I Believe In You A Little

Villanelle If I Believe In You A Little

Refrain 1 (A1) If I believe in you a little, then you only pray.
Line 2 (b) There is room enough in my mind for all your prayers.
Refrain 2 (A2) You seem to know all I think in my small chapel.

Line 4 (a) You walk with a dance in your step,
Line 5 (b) And I wait to hear you sing.
Refrain 1 (A1) If I believe in you a little, then I only pray.

Line 7 (a) I see you stand on the stair banister.
Line 8 (b) And stare at me in the dance theater.
Refrain 2 (A2)You seem to know all I think in this big arena.

Line 10 (a) Did it ever occur to you I might dance.
Line 11 (b) When will we dance together,
Refrain 1 (A1) If I believe in you a little, then we only pray.

Line 13 (a) I cannot depend on the experience of my youth,
Line 14 (b) To understand love looking at me from the stair.
Refrain 2 (A2)You seem to know all I think in my small chapel.

Line 16 (a) I had a dream I made it through the door,
Line 17 (b) Past three guards just beyond the moat.
Refrain 1 (A1) If I believe in you a little, then I pray
Refrain 2 (The door will open on time, and we will kneel together in the chapel.)

This entry was posted in Anne, My poetry, Poem Form, Poem of the day. Bookmark the permalink.